Odisha Panchayat Polls: Election of block chairperson post today

Bhubaneswar: Almost after a week of the final counting of votes for the three-tier Odisha Panchayat Polls, the election of block chairperson post will be held today.

Reportedly, the election will be held at 314 blocks from 10.30 am. The Samiti members of different gram panchayats will elect the block chairpersons.

There will be tough competition in several places. In some places, the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) and Congress are fighting for the post against Biju Janata Dal (BJD) whereas in other places two groups of the ruling party are also looking up to the same post.

The voting will take place in the block where a large number of chairperson candidates are expected to submit the nominations. The results will also be declared today.

In 2014, the BJP won a maximum of 220 seats, the Congress won 46 seats, and the BJP won 38 seats. The ruling party BJD is trying to win over 300-block chairperson posts.

It is to be noted that the election of Zilla Parishad chairman post will be held tomorrow on March 13 while the voting for vice-chairpersons will take place on March 23.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.