Amar Patnaik, Sasmit Patra named as BJD’s Rajya Sabha candidates

Bhubaneswar: Odisha Chief Minister and  Biju Janata Dal (BJD) President Naveen Patnaik on Friday announced the names of candidates for three vacant Rajya Sabha seats from the State.

The BJD candidates for the Rajya Sabha are party’s IT Cell Chairman Amar Patnaik and party spokesperson Sasmit Patra.


The BJD President later said that his party will support the candidature of former IAS officer Aswini Vaishnab as PM Narendra Modi and BJP president Amit Shah spoke him in this regard.


The three seats fell vacant after Dr. Achyuta Samanta, Soumya Ranjan Patnaik and Pratap Keshari Deb resigned following their victories in the recent Lok Sabha and Assembly elections.

While KIIT and KISS founder Dr. Samanta was elected to the Lok Sabha from Kandhamal constituency, Patnaik and Deb were elected to the Assembly from Khandapada and Aul segments respectively.

The Election Commission last week announced that the by-polls for the Rajya Sabha will be held on July 5.

Also Read: Odisha: CHSE Plus +2 Arts, Commerce, Vocational Results 2019 Declared

Kalinga TV is now on WhatsApp. Join today to get latest Updates
Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.