BJD to support Ashwini Vaishnaw’s candidature in Rajya Sabha

Bhubaneswar: The ruling party of Odisha BJD, will support the candidature of Railway Minister Ashwini Vaishnaw to the Rajya Sabha.

“Biju Janata Dal will support the candidature of Ashwini Vaishnaw, the Union Minister, Railways, Communication and Information and Technology for the larger interest of State Railways and Telecom Development in the ensuing Election to Rajya Sabha 2024, ” read the letter issued by the Party.

The Bhartiya Janata Party (BJP) on Wednesday announced the name of Union Railway Minister Ashwini Vaishnaw from Odisha. BJP released another list of candidates for the Rajya Sabha Biennial elections. Union Minister Ashwini Vaishnaw from Odisha.

Debasish Samantaray and Subhasish Khuntia of Biju Janata Dal (BJD) on Tuesday filed nomination for Rajya Sabha elections. The process of filing nomination paper was held in the presence of the BJD Supremo Naveen Patnaik and many other senior BJD leaders.

MLA Debasish Samantaray and Subhasish Khuntia filed their respective nomination papers for Rajya Sabha in the presence of CM Naveen Patnaik and senior ministers and several MLAs.

Debasish Samantray first elected on a BJD ticket from Tirtol Assembly constituency in 2000 & after Tirtol was reserved, he shifted to Cuttack-Barabati seat. He lost in 2019. There were talks in political circles about Debasish wanting to contest from the Paradip Assembly seat in 2024. But the party decided to hand over this responsibility to him.

Subhasish Khuntia also played an important role when the Shri Jagannath Temple Parikrama Prakalpa commenced work in the initial days. Both Debasish and Subhasish are certain to become RS MPs for the first time. Both of them have been working for the party for many years and are proven party loyalists.

The Rajya Sabha elections in Odisha to fill the seats of members retiring in April 2024 is scheduled to take place on February 27. For the same a detailed notification is scheduled to be published today that is on Thursday, said reports.

The term of office of 56 members of the Council of States elected from 15 States is due to expire on their retirement in April 2024.

Here is the detailed dates of the proceedings:

1. Issue of Notifications- 08th February, 2024 (Thursday)

2. Last date of making nominations- 15th February, 2024 (Thursday)

3. Scrutiny of nominations- 16th February, 2024 (Friday)

4. Last date for withdrawal of candidatures- 20th February, 2024 (Tuesday)

5. Date of Poll- 20th February, 2024 (Tuesday)

6. Hours of Poll- 27th February, 2024 (Tuesday) 09:00 am- 04:00 pm

7. Counting of Votes- 27th February, 2024 (Tuesday) at 05:00 pm

8. Date before which election shall be completed- 29th February, 2024 (Thursday)

The Election Commission has on January 29, 2024 announced the date for 56 Rajya Sabha elections seats in 15 states. The elections will take place on February 27.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.