BJD fields Sabitri Agarwalla for Patkura Assembly seat

Bhubaneswar: Biju Janata Dal (BJD) president and Odisha Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik on Monday awarded party ticket to Sabitri Agarwalla, wife of late Bed Prakash Agarwalla, to contest election from Patkura Assembly Constituency in Kendrapara district.

Earlier, the ruling BJD fielded 83-year-old Bed Prakash Agarwalla, who was suffering from a protracted illness. He passed away while undergoing treatment at a private hospital here on April 20.

Following the demise of the veteran leader, the Kendrapara Returning Officer had adjourned the election to the Patkura Assembly constituency.

The election to the Patkura Assembly segment, which was scheduled to be held in the fourth phase on April 29, will be held on May 19.

Senior leader Bijoy Mohapatra is contesting as BJP’s candidate for the Assembly seat while Jayant Mohapatra is the Congress candidate.

Also Read: Cyclonic Storm Fani : Odisha CM Directs To Ensure Zero Casualty


Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.