Achyuta, Prashanta, Soumya Ranjan file Nomination for Rajya Sabha from Odisha

KalingaTV News Network

Bhubaneswar: Veteran BJD leader Prashanta Nanda, and recently inducted into party fold- Dr. Achyuta Samanta and Soumya Ranjan Patnaik filed their nomination papers here on Friday for elections to the three seats to the Rajya Sabha from Odisha.

BJD supremo and Odisha Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik, Parliamentary Affairs Minister Bikram Keshari Arukha and other senior party leaders were present on the occasion.

KIIT and KISS founder Achyuta Samanta entered in active politics by joining BJD on Wednesday.

However, Nanda, veteran ollywood actor, was the Member of 12th and 14th Odisha Legislative Assembly from Begunia, while media baron Soumya Ranjan was elected to the 11th Lok Sabha from the State capital.

Since BJD has 117 MLAs out of the total 147 Assembly seats in the state, these three leaders will certainly be elected to the Upper House of the Parliament.

Three seats in Rajya Sabha from the state will fall vacant as the tenure of BJD Members AU Singhdeo and Dilip Tirkey as well as BJD-backed Independent candidate AV Swami is scheduled to end on April 2.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.