12 edition of KPL picks momentum with 10 lakhs of Total prize money this year


Bhubaneswar: The 12th edition of KIIT Premier League (KPL) All India (D&N) T-20 Cricket Tournament organized by KIIT Deemed University kicked off at KIIT Cricket Stadium on February 5. The tournament was inaugurated by Dr Achyuta Samanta, Founder, KIIT & KISS in presence of BCCI Selectors Banta Singh, M. S. Kumar, Jaikumar Sinha, Abinash Kumar and Lalit Patel. The final match will be played on February 11.

In his welcome address Dr Gaganendu Dash, Director, Sports, KIIT Deemed University highlighted the international standard sports infrastructure of KIIT & KISS.

All matches of the seven days tournament (from 5 to 11th February 2019) will be played as per T-20 Format on turf wicket on league basis in floodlight.

Participating teams from 12 Universities from all parts of India were divided into four pools of three teams each.

Kalinga TV is now on WhatsApp. Join today to get latest Updates

12th Edition of KPL kicked off

The prime attraction of the 12th edition of KPL is its prime money. The total prize money of the tournament is 10 lakh. The winner will bag the trophy and a cash prize of Rs. 2 lakh, while the first runner’s up will get Rs. 1 lakh. The second runner’s up will receive Rs 50,000. Each team winning league matches and upon entering the quarterfinals will receive a prize of Rs 10,000. Besides, there are plenty of individual cash prizes to be awarded on the final day in various categories such as Man of the Series, Man of the Final Match, Best Bowler, Best Batsman, and Best Wicket-keeper.

It is worth mentioning that, this edition of KPL has the distinction of being the highest prize money tournament in the history of university sports in India.

Also Read: Justice Pramath Patnaik Takes Oath As Orissa High Court Judge

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.