Glenn Maxwell’s unbeaten ton empowers Australia to whitewash India

Bangaluru: Glenn Maxwell’s an unbeaten 113 helped Australia to beat India by seven wickets in the second and final Twenty20 international to sweep the series at the M. Chinnaswamy Stadium here this evening.

Batting first, host India with Virat Kohli’s 72 off 38, Lokesh Rahul’s 47 off 26 and MS Dhoni’s 40 off 23 had set a target of 191 for the visitors.

Chasing 191 for victory, the tourists rode on Maxwell’s 55-ball knock, laced with 7 fours and 9 sixes, to achieve their target with two balls to spare.

Maxwell was adjured the Player of the Match and Player of the Series.

This is the first bilateral T20 series which Australia won against India.

India’s bilateral series losses at home for India (T20Is):
1-0(1) vs Eng, 2011
1-0(2) vs NZ, 2012
2-0(3) vs SA, 2015
2-0(2) vs Aus, 2019

Brief Scores: India 190/4 (Virat Kohli 72 no off 38 balls, KL Rahul 47 off 26 balls, Jason Behrendorff 1/17 in 3 overs) Australia 194/3 in 19. 4 overs (Glenn Maxwell 113 no off 55 balls, D’Arcy Short 40, Vijay Shankar 2/38)

Also Read: India To Face Australia In The Must-Win Second T20 Today

The two teams will now play 5 ODIs. Here is the Schedule:

1st ODI: March 02 at Rajiv Gandhi International Stadium, Hyderabad (1:30 PM IST)

2nd ODI: March 05 at Vidarbha Cricket Association Stadium, Nagpur (1:30 PM IST)

3rd ODI: March 08 at JSCA International Stadium, Ranchi (1:30 PM IST)

4th ODI: March 10 at IS Bindra Stadium, Mohali (1:30 PM IST)

5th ODI: March 13 at Feroz Shah Kotla, Delhi

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.