Stage set for third phase election in Odisha

Bhubaneswar: Elaborate arrangement has been made for the third phase of elections to be held in the state tomorrow, informed Chief Electoral Officer (CEO) Nikunj Bihari Dhala.

It is to be noted here that the third phase of polling will be held in six Lok Sabha constituencies of Sambalpur, Keonjhar, Dhenkanal, Cuttack, Puri and Bhubaneswar along with 42 assembly constituencies under them.

A total of 94.48 lakh voters will decide the fate of 447 candidates (64 MP and 383 MLA) on May 25 in the sixth phase of the concurrent general election-2024.

A total of 94,41,797 voters including  48,26, 375 male voters and 46,14,134 female will cast their franchises on Saturday and will decide the fates of 64 MP and 383 MLA candidates on May 25.

As many as 10,515 polling stations and 36 additional polling stations for this phase, with approximately 896 voters per polling station have been set up. About 1500 polling stations will be fully managed by women staff and 30 will be fully handled by differently-abled staff.

Meanwhile, DGP Arun Kumar Sarangi said that a total of 35,000 state police and paramilitary security personnel will be deployed to keep the violence at bay during the polling. Besides, 121 companies of Paramilitary Forces, 106 platoons of Odisha Armed Police and 19,865 civil police forces have been deployed for free and fair elections in Odisha.

Moreover, 43 Additional SPs, 95 DSPs, 238 inspectors, 2160 SIs, 10, 212 armed and unarmed Constables and Havildars, 7,117 Home Guards and Grama Rakhis have been deployed for the smooth polling.

The DGP further said that 5 young IPS officers of ASP rank in Sambalpur, Khordha, Keonjhar and Cuttack have been mobilized at sensitive booths. A total of 84 DSPs, two each for one assembly segment, have been deployed to maintain law and order, he added.

Also Read: Depression Intensifies, 4 District Collectors In Odisha Put On Alert

Kalinga TV is now on WhatsApp. Join today to get latest Updates
Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.