Odisha Municipal Elections: Ballot papers of 2 different colours to be used, Check details

Bhubaneswar: The State Election Commission (SEC) has issued a notice to inform that there will be ballot papers of two different colours to be used in the elections to Municipalities/NACs as well as Municipal Corporations.

Reportedly, the SEC has directed that the colour of Ballot Papers for the Corporators/Councilor will be ‘Pink’ and Mayor/Chairperson will be ‘Yellow’ in exercise of powers vested in it under Article 243 ZA of the Constitution.

The Ballot Papers are to be printed will be pasted in the Ballot Unit of the EVM. It will be used for the purpose of Election Duty Certificate (EDC) and Tendered Vote.

It had been notified that all elections to the Office of Mayors/Chairpersons & Corporators/Councilors shall be held by using Electronic Voting Machines (EVMs) supplied by the State Election Commission.

As many as two EVMs will be used in each booth for elections to Councilor/Chairperson in case of Municipalities/NACs and Corporator/Mayor in case of Municipal Corporations.

Earlier on Friday, State Election Commission (SEC) directed that the option NOTA (None Of The Above) will be provided to the electors for the General Elections to Urban Local Bodies. The words ‘ଉପୋରକ୍ତ ପ୍ରାର୍ଥୀଙ୍କ ମଧ୍ୟରୁ କେହି ନୁହନ୍ତି’ (None Of The Above Candidate) shall be printed in the last panel after the last candidate.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.