Odisha Municipal Election: Primary voter list to be published today

Bhubaneswar: The State Election Commission (SEC) will publish the primary voter list for the Municipal Election today.

Reportedly, the final voter list will be published by the end of this month.

Adding to it, SEC has also called for an all-party meeting today in order to plan the ways to hold free and fair elections.

The discussions are likely to be held regarding an error-free voter list. The election commission will consider the opinion of all the parties in the meeting.

Notably, after the Odisha panchayat elections, the state election commission has started the process for the municipal elections. The State Election Commission (SEC) had revised the expenditure of candidates for Councillor/ Corporator/ Chairperson/ Mayor to a NAC/ Municipality/ Municipal Corporation.

An official notification had also been released on February 8.

Sl. No. NACs/ Municipality / Municipal Corporation Maximum limit of election expenses by a candidate for Councillor/Corporator Maximum limit of election expenses by a candidate for Chairperson/Mayor
i. NACs/Municipalities having a population up to 50,000 Rs.50,000/- Rs.2,00,000/-
ii. Municipalities having a population between 50,000 to 1,00,000 Rs.75,000/- Rs.3,00,000/-
iii. Municipalities having a population above 1,00,000 Rs. 1,00,000/- Rs.5,00,000/-
iv. Municipal Corporation Rs.2,00,000/- Rs.12,00,000/-


The delimitation of wards and reservation of seats in the ULBs have already been completed. The polls will be held in three municipal corporations — Bhubaneswar, Cuttack and Berhampur, 48 municipalities and 59 notified area councils (NACs). Of the total 1,756 wards, 668 wards are unreserved while 122 are reserved for SCs, 171 for SC women, 49 for STs and 133 for ST women. A total of 613 wards have been reserved for women.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.