Odisha Municipal Election: Polls to be held for 110 Urban Local Bodies

Bhubaneswar: The polls for Odisha Municipal Election will be held for 110 Urban Local Bodies (ULBs), informed State Election Commissioner Aditya Prasad Padhi.

Reportedly, the 110 ULBs include 48 Municipalities, 59 Notified Area Councils (NACs), and three Municipal Corporations.

An all-party meeting was held under the chairmanship of SEC Aditya Prasad Padhi. He focused on the preparation of error-free Ward-wise Electoral Roll for the General Election to Urban Local Bodies in Odisha.

Discussions regarding voter list revision and municipal election preparations were held in the meeting. Political parties have been informed that direct elections will be held for the post of Chairperson and Mayor.

The voting for Councillor and Corporator will be held through EVM machines in the upcoming Municipal Elections. Each booth will be provided with two EVMs.

The submission of affidavits by the candidates has been made compulsory as the non-submission will result in the cancellation of the nomination, added reports.

The election expenses of the candidates will be according to the revised list.

The primary voter list for the Municipal Election will be published today following which any objections and suggestions will be received from February 11 to 16. The objections and suggestions will be scrutinized on February 18.

Adding to it, the final voter list will be prepared by February 24 and will be sent to the State Election Commission on February 28, added SEC Padhi.

It is to be noted that the political parties will receive a free copy of the primary voter list while it will also be available for others on a payment basis.


Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.