Odisha Congress Chief Resigns After Poll Debacle

Bhubaneswar: Odisha Pradesh Congress Committee (OPCC) president Niranjan Patnaik today resigned from his post. The development came a day after the party was routed in the general election and slipped to the third position.

Patnaik who was appointed as the state Congress chief in April last year announced his resignation on moral ground in a press conference today. He said that he has already sent his resignation to AICC president, Rahul Gandhi.

The national party managed to win only one Lok Sabha seat and nine assembly seats in Odisha. The party even failed to put up decent fight in most of the assembly and parliament constituencies.

Patnaik who was contesting from Ghasipura and Bhandaripokhari assembly constituencies finished second in both the assembly segments. Patnaik was in the eye of the storm for distribution of party tickets during the general election.

Also Read: Injured Congress Aska MLA Candidate Manoj Jena Succumbs


Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.