Number Of Judges In Orissa High Court Rises To 33

Cuttack: The number of judges in the Orissa High Court has risen to 33 as the posts of six new judges have been approved.

Reportedly, the Union Ministry of Law has written to the Odisha Law Department and the High Court seeking an increase in the number of judges. Earlier, there were 29 judges in the Orissa High Court.

The Chief Justice of the Orissa High Court, Dr. S. Muralidhar, had recommended to the Central Government and the Supreme Court to increase the number of judges by 25 percent in the first week of January. There are currently 18 judges in the Orissa High Court, including Chief Justice S. Muralidhar.

Notably, the Supreme Court Collegium recently recommended the names of four more judges including V. Narasingh, Sanjay Kumar Mishra, Biraja Prasanna Satapathy, and Sri Raman Murahari.

In 2014, the number of judges allowed by the Orissa High Court increased from 22 to 27. More than 1,70,000 cases are still pending in the Orissa High Court, added reports.

Kalinga TV is now on WhatsApp. Join today to get latest Updates
Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.