Cuttack Municipal Corporation election: Transgender Tanushree Behera files nomination

Cuttack: Transgender Tanushree Behera on Sunday filed a nomination paper for the upcoming Cuttack Municipal Corporation (CMC) election.

Tanushree, with hundreds of her supporters, went to file her nomination for the Corporator of Ward No.38. She is contesting the election as an independent candidate.

Like her, several people including Congress party’s Mayor candidate Giribala Behera also filed their nominations at CMC office.

On the other hand, the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) of Odisha named Odia Cine-Star Sritam Das as the party’s Mayor Candidate for Cuttack Municipal Corporation. Notably, he had joined the saffron party before the General Elections in 2014.

Similarly, BJD has fielded Rajya Sabha MP Subash Chandra Singh as the party’s nominee for the CMC Mayor post.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.