BJD retains Zilla Parishad seat in Jajpur

KalingaTV News Network

Jajpur: The state ruling Biju Janata Dal (BJD) on Thursday won the by-election held for the Zilla Parishad seat in zone-30 of Jajpur.

BJD’s Biswa Pratap Mishra won the by-poll by 6117 votes.

Out of total 21,633 votes, Pratap got 12,799 votes, while BJP’s Mananth Baral pocketed 6,682 votes and Congress candidate received only 1,780 votes. As many as 392 votes were found to be invalid.

The voters had exercised their franchise in 101 booths of the Zilla Parishad zone yesterday while the counting was done at the block office here today.

The by-election was necessitated following the untimely death of BJD’s Bhagwat Prasad Mishra.

Expressing his happiness over the victory, Biswa Pratap said, “This is the victory of the voters of the zone-30. I thank them all for voting for me. I also thank BJD President Naveen Patnaik and Jajpur MLA Pranab Prakash Das for all their support and blessings.”

Kalinga TV is now on WhatsApp. Join today to get latest Updates
Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.