Bijepur By-polls: Congress names Pranay Sahu as its candidate

KalingaTV News Network

Bhubaneswar: Putting all speculations to rest, the All India Congress Committee (AICC) on Sunday named Pranay Sahu, Congress Vice Chairman of Gaisilet Block in Bargarh district, as its candidate for the much awaited Bijepur by-poll.

Former MLA Ripunath Seth (elected to the Assembly in 1995 from Bijepur) was one of the top contenders of Sahu.

A six-member committee headed by former Chief Minister Hemananda Biswal was formed on January 27 to submit report to the high command recommending names of suitable candidates for the by-poll.

Congress, the party which held the Bijepur assembly seat for three consecutive times since 2004, is eyeing to retain the seat after the untimely demise of Subal Sahu.

Notably, BJP candidate Ashok Panigrahi filed his nomination papers on Friday, while BJD candidate Rita Sahu, wife of late Subal Sahu, will file her papers tomorrow.

The by-election to the Bijepur Assembly constituency is scheduled to be held on February 24.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.