Bijepur By-poll: BJD wins with huge margin, Congress stays at distant 3rd

KalingaTV News Network

Baragarh : The ruling Biju Janata Dal (BJD) on Wednesday registered an impressive victory in the Bijepur by-poll, while the Opposition Congress, which had won last three general elections from the Bijepur Assembly constituency, stayed at a distant third position and the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) secured second place in the high voltage by-election.

BJD candidate Rita Sahu won the by-poll with a huge margin of over 41,000 votes. She got a total of 1,02,871 votes, while her nearest rival Ashok Panigrahi of BJP secured 60,938 votes; Congress’ Pranay Sahu managed only 10,274 votes and lost his security deposit, informed Returning Officer Tapiram Majhi.

As many as 1665 voters preferred NOTA (None Of The above) option though a total of 13 candidates had contested in the by-poll, held on February 24.

The by-election was necessitated in Bijepur following the demise of three-time Congress MLA Subal Sahu in August last year.

Ironically, BJD fielded Rita Sahu, wife of incumbent MLA late Subal Sahu, as its candidate for the by-poll, while Ashok Panigrahi left BJD and became saffron party’s candidate.

“The clean image of CM Naveen Patnaik and the State governments various developmental projects in our region as well as the popularity of my husband helped me to win this by-election,” said the MLA-elect Rita Sahu while talking to Kalinga TV.

“I will work for the all-round development of the people in our area and strive hard to fulfill my husband’s dream,” she added.

BJD President and Odisha Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik hailed the party’s impressive show and called the outcome a “rejection” of violence by the people of Bijepur.

“I would like to express my deep gratitude to the people of Bijepur Assembly constituency for having showered their blessings on BJD,” Naveen Patnaik said.

“Odisha is a peaceful state; the people will not stand for violence in a democracy”, he added.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.