10 Berhampur Corporators quit Congress, likely to join BJD

KalingaTV News Network

Berhampur: In yet another setback to the state unit of Congress in Odisha, as many as ten Corporators of Berhampur Municipal Corporation (BeMC) here quit the party on Saturday.

The Corporators have sent their resignation papers to the Pradesh Congress Committee (PCC) president Prasad Harichandan. They are R. Murali Mohan, Ranjit Kumar Nayak , Anil Nayak, Sanjukta Patra, Lili Kumari Behra,  Gita Madhi, Priyanka Choudhury, B. Srinibas Rao, M. Meenakhi and Minati Kumari Bishoie.

The outgoing Corporators said that the increasing infighting among the senior leaders in the state unit of congress, indiscipline behaviour of senior office bearers and depleting party organisation forced them to take such decision.

The political development came after veteran Congress man of the city and former Union Minister Chandrasekhar Sahu along with Ganjam district president of the party Bhagaban Gantayat and AICC member Bikram Panda resigned from the grand old party on Thursday.

All the leaders are expected to join the ruling Biju Janata Dal (BJD) on April 4 in the presence of BJD supremo and Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik.

In recent past, Rita Sahu, wife of three time Congress MLA Subal Sahu, joined BJD and won the Bijepur by poll, while the Congress candidate faced a humiliate defeat losing his deposit.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.