BJD fields Sarojini Hembram from Baripada Assembly Constituency

Bhubaneswar: Going ahead with the announcement of its candidates list for the upcoming election, BJD today declared senior leader Sarojini Hembram as its candidate for Baripada Assembly constituency.

Party supremo and CM of Odisha Naveen Patanik made the announcement here this morning.

After being field from Baripada, Hembram will now contest with BJP’s Prakash Soren and Congress’ Dasarath Singh, whose names have already been announced by their respective parties.

Hembram who held the privilege of becoming the first woman MLA from the state to be elected to the Upper House of the Parliament in 2014, had quit a government job in 2009 to join politics. She got elected to the Odisha Assembly from Bangiriposi (ST) constituency unseating three-time MLA and the then JMM leader Sudam Marandi.

Baripada will go into polls during the 4th Phase of the general election in Odisha scheduled to be held on April 29.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.