CM Confers Biju Patnaik Award for Scientific Excellence

KalingaTV News Network

Bhubaneswar: The Biju Patnaik Award for Scientific Excellence for 2016 was conferred upon Prof. Digambar Behera by Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik on Wednesday.

Prof Behera is the Head of Department of Pulmonary Medicine in the Postgraduate Institute of Medical Education and Research (PGIMER) in Chandigarh.

Prof Prasanta Mohapatra of the Department of Computer Science in the University of California was bestowed with the Biju Patnaik award for 2015.

The first of its kind award in the field of science was instituted by the State Government’s Department of Science and Technology. The award comprises a cash prize of Rs 2 lakh, a citation, memento, certificate, shawl and silver medal.

The Samanta Chandra Sekhar Award for 2016 was given to Prof. Swapna Mahapatra, Prof. Banshidhar Majhi and Prof. Sukumar Mishra; the award for 2015 went to Dr Sharat Kumar Pradhan, Prof. Sarat Kumar Swain and Prof. Bhishma Kumar Patel. The Samanta Chandra Sekhar award, named after the renowned Odia astronomer, is given for excellent research contribution in the field of science and technology during the five years preceding the year of award.

Every year, the Odisha Bigyan Academy (OBA) felicitates Odia scientists who have made major contributions in the field of Science and Technology.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.