Yellow warning for thunderstorm issued to these districts of Odisha

Bhubaneswar: The India Meteorological Department (IMD) has issued a Yellow warning for light rain/thunderstorms with lightning in 22 districts of Odisha.

According to the weather department, Sundargarh, Mayurbhanj, Keonjar, Deogarh, Dhenkanal, Bhadrak, Balasore, Jajpur, Angul, Nayagarh, Cuttack, Puri, Khordha, Boudh, Ganjam, Kandhamal, Gajapati, Rayagada, Koraput, Malkangiri, Kendrapara and, Jagatsinghpur are likely to witness light rain/thunderstorm with lightning.

The warning has been issued till 8.30 am of May 7.

Meanwhile, the Meteorological Centre in Bhubaneswar informed on Friday that the cyclonic storm is likely to hit Odisha coast on May 10.

The Low Pressure Area over South Andaman Sea and adjoining Southeast Bay of Bengal is very likely to move northwestwards and intensify into a depression by evening of May 7.

It will further intensify into a Cyclonic Storm by evening of May 8, added the weather department.

MeT also added that it is very likely to continue to move northwestwards and reach Westcentral Bay of Bengal off north Andhra-­Odisha coasts by May 10.

Adding to it, a low pressure area has formed over South Andaman Sea and adjoining Southeast Bay of Bengal under the influence of the cyclonic circulation over South Andaman Sea & neighbourhood, informed Meteorological Centre, Bhubaneswar on May 6.

Kalinga TV is now on WhatsApp. Join today to get latest Updates
Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.