Voting for Bijepur By-Poll ends

KalingaTV News Network

Bargarh: The much-awaited voting for Bijepur Assembly Constituency by-poll concluded peacefully on Saturday. Around 72 percent voter turnout recorded till 5 PM (the voting period), informed Chief Electoral Officer (CEO) of Odisha.

The Voter Verifiable Paper Audit Trail (VVPAT) machines developed technical glitch in booth no- 88, 102, 141 in Bijepur block and booth no 20 in Barpali block. However, voting resumed after a delay of over 30 minutes.

Likewise, the Presiding Officer of booth no -193 was suspended for allegedly influencing voters to vote for particular candidate.

The enthusiastic voters began casting their franchise at around 8 AM amid tight security. The voting was conducted at 281 booths in the Constituency, at least 155 among them were identified as sensitive.

As many as 13 candidates were on the run for the post. However, BJD’s Rita Sahu, BJP’s Ashok Panigrahi and Congress’ Pranaya Sahu are seen as the front runners for the Constituency.

The results will be declared on February 28.

The by-election was necessitated after the demise of the incumbent MLA Subal Sahu in August last year.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.