Rita Sahu takes oath as Bijepur MLA

KalingaTV News Network

Bhubaneswar: Biju Janata Dal (BJD) candidate Rita Sahu, who won the Bijepur by-poll on February 28, took oath as MLA of Bijepur Legislative Constituency here on Tuesday.

The newly elected MLA was administered the oath of office and secrecy by Odisha Assembly Speaker Pradip Kumar Amat at the Assembly premises.

With this, the numbers of MLAs from the ruling BJD have increased to 118 out of total 147 seats in the 15th Odisha Legislative Assembly, while Congress and BJP have 15 and 10 MLAs respectively.

BJD candidate, wife of incumbent MLA late Subal Sahu, defeated her nearest rival Ashok Panigrahi of BJP with a huge margin of 41, 933 votes in the by-poll.

The by-election was necessitated in Bijepur following the demise of three-time Congress MLA Subal Sahu in August last year.


Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.