Patkura Assembly election: Counting of votes begins

Kendrapara: Counting of votes for the Patkura Assembly election began at Kendrapara Autonomous College here in Odisha at 8 AM on Wednesday.

Polling was held in 309 polling booths in the Assembly segments on July 20. Around 72.75 per cent voter turnout was recorded in the election.

The district administration has arranged to ensure smooth conduct of the counting of the votes.

A total of 10 candidates are in the poll fray. Prominent among them are BJP candidate Bijay Mohapatra, Jayanta Mohanty of Congress and BJD’s Sabitri Agrawalla, wife of former Minister Bed Prakash Agarwalla.

Election to Patkura was countermanded following the death of 82-year-old BJD candidate Bed Prakash Agarwalla on April 20.

The Election Commission issued a fresh schedule for the election on May 19. However, the poll body later postponed the election for two months due to cyclone Fani.


Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.