Odisha: Voting for Patkura Assembly election begins

Kendrapara: The voting for Patkura Assembly constituency in Odisha began at 7 AM on Saturday. Polling is peacefully underway across 309 polling booths, when the last reports came in.

A total of 2, 44,747 voters including 1,17,306 women will exercise their franchise in this election.

A total of 10 candidates are in the poll fray. Prominent among them are BJP candidate Bijay Mohapatra, Jayanta Mohanty of Congress and BJD’s Sabitri Agrawalla, wife of former Minister Bed Prakash Agarwalla.

Elaborate security arrangements have been made to ensure smooth conduct of the election.

Five Magistrates, four companies of CRPF and policemen have been deployed in Patkura to ensure an incident-free election. The administration has identified 138 booths as critical in the constituency.

Election to Patkura was countermanded following the death of 82-year-old BJD candidate Bed Prakash Agarwalla on April 20.

The Election Commission issued a fresh schedule for the election on May 19. However, the poll body later postponed the election for two months due to cyclone Fani.

The counting of votes will be taken up on July 24.

Also Read: Eyes Of Four Year Old Dead Child Gouged Out In Odisha

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.