Odisha Panchayat Election Result: BJD bags 90% of 851 Zilla Parishad seats

Bhubaneswar: A day after the final counting of votes for the three-tier Odisha Panchayat polls was held on Monday, 829 results have been declared.

Reportedly out of a total of 851 Zilla Parishad seats, Biju Janata Dal (BJD) has won 759 seats in Odisha, followed by Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) with 42, Congress with 37 and Others with 7.

The ruling party has got success in most of the districts while the opponent BJP and Congress are limited to two-digit numbers in getting the Zilla Parishad seats.

The BJP has come down from the 297 mark to around 50. Besides, in 10 districts the saffron party has not got even a single seat.

The ruling party, BJD, has again proved its mettle in the polls while the saffron party has failed to retain a majority of the seats it won in the 2017 polls. In 2017, BJD won 476 ZP seats, BJP won 297 seats.

Meanwhile, Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik has extended his sincere thanks to the people of Odisha for believing in the ruling party as well as for the strong, continuous love and support. He took to his official Twitter account and wrote “My sincere thanks to all of you for winning the Biju Janata Dal in 2022 by winning the three-tier panchayat elections with unwavering love. This has further strengthened our commitment to public service. My congratulations to the winning party candidate and all the activists who turned the BJP into a movement through dedicated work.”

It is to be noted that, the Odisha State Election Commission (SEC) on Friday announced that the election for 109 urban local bodies (ULBs) in the state will be held on March 24.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.