Odisha Municipal Election Results 2022: BJD leading in CMC area till noon

Cuttack: The ruling party Biju Janata Dal (BJD) has been leading in a maximum of wards in the Cuttack Municipal Corporation (CMC) area till noon.

Reportedly, till the eighth round of vote counting in CMC, BJD Mayor candidate Subhash Singh is leading with a total of 24,283 votes followed by Congress Mayor candidate Giribala Behera with 17,363 and BJP Mayor candidate Sritam Das with 7896.

The vote counting is still underway. The counting of votes for the Odisha Municipal Elections has begun in 58 NAC, 47 municipal councils, and three municipal corporations. There will be no counting of votes in the 6th ward of NAC in Dhamnagar, Bhadrak district.

As per the State Election Commission, 65 percent of voters turned out to cast their franchise and decide the fate of 6411 candidates.

Till the last reports came in BJD wins 20 out of 26 wards, independent wins 3, BJP wins one and Congress wins 2 wards.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.