Monsoon Session of Parliament to Begin From July 18

KalingaTV News Network

New Delhi: The Monsoon session of Parliament will begin on July 18 and end on August 10. The session will have 18 sittings in total, informed Parliamentary Affairs Minister Ananth Kumar.

During the session, the government will push key bills including the Triple Talaq bill, Constitution (123rd) Amendment Bill, 2017, the Indian Arbitration Council Act, 2017, Specific Relief (Amendment) Bill, 2018 and Transgender bill.

The Triple Talaq Bill which is pending in the Upper House of the Parliament is the top priority of the government, said Ananth Kumar. “ The support and cooperation of the opposition parties is needed as there are many important items on the legislative agenda,” added Ananth.

During the session, election to choose the deputy chairman for the Rajya Sabha will also be taken up as PJ Kurien’s term ends at the end of this month.

Notably, the Budget session of Parliament in April was mostly a washout with the Lok Sabha spending only 1% of its allotted time on legislative business.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.