BJD’s Subash Singh takes oath as Cuttack Municipal Corporation Mayor

Cuttack: The newly elected representative of Biju Janata Dal (BJD) Subhash Singh has taken oath as Cuttack Municipal Corporation (CMC) Mayor on Thursday.

Reportedly, the oath-taking ceremony was held at 9 am in Shaheed Bhavan, Cuttack. Singh was sworn in as the fifth mayor.

The Newly elected candidates of 59 wards were sworn in en-mass at Shaheed Bhavan today including 38 candidates of BJD, eight of Congress, seven BJP and six independent elected Corporators, added reports.

It is pertinent to mention that Subhash Singh is the first directly elected Mayor of Cuttack. Singh is a Rajya Sabha member, and national spokesperson for BJD. He won the CMC Mayor seat with a margin of 45,206 votes.

Notably, the elections for Deputy Mayor and Vice-Chairperson posts in Cuttack Municipal Corporation will be held at 105 Municipalities today.

The nomination papers for the post of Deputy Mayor will be filed between 10 AM to 11 AM following which the papers will be scrutinized from 11 AM to 12 noon. Thereafter, the candidates can withdraw their nominations till 1 PM and the polling will be held from 1.30 PM to 3.30 PM.

The results of the Cuttack Deputy Mayor and Vice-Chairperson posts will be declared the same day.

Also read: Municipal Corporation Polls: Elections For Cuttack Deputy Mayor, Vice-chairperson to be held today

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.