Bijepur By-poll: Election Commission issues notification

KalingaTV News Network

Bhubaneswar: The Election Commission on Tuesday issued notification for the much awaited Bijepur by-poll in Bargarh district.

With the issuance of the notification, filing of nominations began today and will continue till February 6.

While the scrutiny will be done on February 7, candidates can withdraw their nomination papers by February 9. Voting for the Bijepur by-election will be held on February 24.

BJP candidate Ashok Panigrahi would file his nomination papers on February 2, while BJD’s Rita Sahu, widow of former Bijepur MLA Subal Sahu, would file her nomination papers on February 5.

On the other hand, the Congress party is yet to name its party candidate for the upcoming Bijepur by-poll. It has constituted a six-member committee to select a candidate for the election.

Former Chief Minister of Odisha Hemananda Biswal will head the committee while Jagannath Patnaik will be its convenor. Senior leaders Sarat Patnaik, Naba Das, Bhakta Charan Das and Bargarh DCC president Anantasana Padhi are the members of the panel.

The Bijepur by-election was needed following the death of Congress MLA Subal Sahu on August 22, 2017.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.