5 held for attacking cops, vandalizing van

KalingaTV News Network

attackCuttack: Taking prompt action in the incident of attack on a police team by a group of villagers in Kumarpur village under Athagarh area in the district last night, Gurudijhatia Police arrested at least 5 persons on Thursday.

The arrested have been identified as Bijay Kumar Nayak, Anant Charan Pradhan, Umashankar Sasmal, Gurudatta Beura, Amit Kumar Pradhan and Pradeep Kumar Nayak.

Police raided the village early this morning and took the accused into custody.

The attack took place at around 10pm last night when a team of policemen from Gurudijhatia Police Station arrived in Kumarpur village to arrest an accused involved in last panchayat poll related violence. Supporters of the accused attacked the police van and damaged it. At least four policemen sustained injury in the incident. Later on the mob attacked on the house of a panchayat poll candidate Satyabadi Mohanty and ransacked it.

Policemen in large number have been deployed in the village.

Kalinga TV is now on WhatsApp. Join today to get latest Updates
Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.