Kumaraswamy to take oath as Karnataka CM today

KalingaTV News Network

Bengaluru: Janata Dal (Secular) leader HD Kumaraswamy is all set to take oath as the Chief Minister of Karnataka at 4.30 PM today in front of the Vidhana Soudha, the seat of the government in Bengaluru. He will be administered the oath of office and secrecy by Governor Vajubhai Rudabhai Vala.

This will be the second time that Kumaraswamy will be the CM of the state. Earlier, he was in the post from 3rd February, 2006 to 9th October, 2007.

Congress leader G Parmeshwara will also be sworn-in as the Deputy Chief Minister of the state. Besides, 34 Ministers including 22 from Congress and 12 from JD(S) will also take their oaths. However, the portfolio of the Ministers will not be allocated to them today.

A galaxy of opposition leaders including Sonia Gandhi, Rahul Gandhi, Mayawati, Akhilesh Yadav and Chief Ministers Mamata Banerjee, Chandrababu Naidu and others are likely to attend the oath taking ceremony of Kumaraswamy. Actor-turned-politician Kamal Haasan of Makkal Needhi Maiam will be skipping the swearing-in ceremony as he will be visiting Tuticorin in Tamil Nadu in light of the anti-Sterlite protests.

Notably, JD(S) won 38 seats while Congress won 78 seats in recently-concluded Karnataka Assembly elections 2018. Though BJP won 104 seats, it failed to touch the magic number (112) to form government. However, Governor Vajubhai Rudabhai Vala had welcomed the saffron party to form government as it had won the highest number of seats from the total 222 seats.

Later, BJP’s B.S Yeddyurappa, who was sworn in as Chief Minister on May 17, stepped down two days later before the floor test as he did not have the numbers.

The Governor, following Yeddyurappa’s resignation, invited JD(S)-Congress to form the government.

You might also like

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.