The news is by your side.

Karnataka election results: BJP way ahead of Congress, set to form next govt


KalingaTV News Network

Bengaluru: In a spectacular turn of events for BJP in the Karnataka Assembly election for which the counting of votes is underway today, it is racing ahead of the magic number leaving behind the ruling Congress and regional party JD (S), as per the trends so far.

The saffron party was well ahead of Congress with a lead in 120 constituencies for which the counting was underway till 11 AM in the morning. The Congress was trailing with 58 seats along with JD (S) at 41. Similarly, independent candidates were also leading in 2 seats.

In what could be dubbed as a prestige issue for Congress Party its incumbent Chief Minister C. Siddaramaiah, who fought from two assembly seats was seen trailing behind his BJP rival Sriramulu from Badami seat. However, he had managed to take a lead in Chamundeswari.

The election results which have gone in favour of BJP so far has also dashed the hopes of JD (S) which was expecting a king maker role after most of the Exit Poll results predicted a hung assembly in 2018 in the state.

In another significant development, BJP candidates were seen leading in Lingayat dominated seats despite ruling Congress’s welfare measures which had been announced for the community ahead of the poll. Similarly, JD (S) candidates did better in Vokkaliga dominated areas.

BJP’s Chief Ministerial candidate B.S. Yeddyurappa was leading from Shikaripura seat.

The magic number for any party to form the government in Karnataka Assembly stands at 113.


Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.