Three from Odisha in Indian team for FIH Women’s Series Finals

Bhubaneswar: Three players from Odisha have been selected in the Indian team for the upcoming FIH Women’s Series Finals starting in Japan’s Hiroshima on June 15.

The players from Odisha include Defenders Deep Grace Ekka and Sunita Lakra, and Midfielder Lilima Minz.

Odisha Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik took the Twitter route to congratulate the players from the state.

“Congratulate women hockey players from #Odisha, Deep Grace Ekka, Sunita Lakra, Lilima Minz for making it to 18-member Indian Women’s Hockey team for the FIH Women’s Series Finals Hiroshima 2019 to be played from 15 June. Best wishes to the team,” the Chief Minister tweeted.

Hockey India today named the 18-member Indian Women’s Hockey team for the forthcoming FIH Women’s Series Finals Hiroshima 2019.

Rani Rampal will captain the team and experienced goalkeeper Savita will share the responsibility of Vice-Captain.

Indian women’s team is grouped in Pool A along with Poland, Uruguay and Fiji, while Pool B features 18th Asian Games Gold Medallist Japan, Chile, Russia and Mexico.

India will begin their campaign on the opening day against Uruguay.

Indian Team:

Goalkeepers: Savita (Vice Captain), Rajani Etimarpu

Defenders: Deep Grace Ekka, Nisha, Gurjit Kaur, Salima Tete, Sunita Lakra

Midfielders: Lilima Minz, Monika, Nikki Pradhan, Neha Goyal, Sushila Chanu Pukhrambam

Forwards: Rani Rampal (Captain), Vandana Katariya, Navjot Kaur, Navneet Kaur, Lalremsiami, Jyoti

Also Read: 12th KIIT International Chess Festival 2019 To Begin From May 31

Kalinga TV is now on WhatsApp. Join today to get latest Updates
Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.