TDP Ministers resign from Modi Govt

KalingaTV News Network

New Delhi: In a major political development, two Telugu Desam Party (TDP) Ministers resigned from Union cabinet hours after Prime Minister Narendra Modi spoke to TDP chief and Andhra Pradesh Chief Minister Chandrababu Naidu here on Thursday evening.

Civil Aviation Minister Ashok Gajapathi Raju and Minister of State for Science and Technology YS Chowdary called on the Prime Minister and handed over their resignations, ending four-year-old alliance with the BJP.

Yesterday, Naidu had announced that two TDP Ministers would resign from the Modi Government after Union Finance Minister Arun Jaitley ruled out “special status” to Andhra Pradesh.

The Chief Minister accused the centre of step-motherly treatment with Andhra Pradesh. He reiterated that all 19 promises in Andhra Pradesh Bifurcation Act had not been served.

Earlier on the day, two BJP Ministers in the Andhra Pradesh state cabinet, Dr Kamineni Srinivasa Rao and Pydikondala Manikyala Rao tendered their resignations.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.