Below Header Govt Ad

Statistics of voter turnout in phase one of polling in Odisha

Female voters outnumber males and others in phase one of 2019 elections

Bhubaneswar: Chief Election Officer (CEO) of Odisha on Friday released statistics regarding voter turnout in the first phase (phase 1) of elections for four parliamentary constituencies. Kalahandi, Nabrangpur, Berhampur and Malkangiri went for elections yesterday in Odisha.

The CEO revealed that a total of 73.76 per cent was seen with more female voters coming out to use their fundamental right. A total of 74.43 per cent female voters, 73.09 per cent male voters, 11.25 per cent of voters cast their vote in the ‘Others’ category.

Now moving on to figures by constituency-wise, voter turn-out for Kalahandi was 75.82 per cent, Nabrangapur was 78.89 per cent, Berhampur was 65.57 per cent and Koraput was 74.77 per cent.

He added that Kotpad constituency registered the highest voter turnout with 86.83 per cent and Berhampur constituency the lowest with 56.34 per cent.

The CEO also said that they have recommended fresh polls in two Assembly constituencies in Malkangiri and Berhampur parliamentary constituencies. Now it is up to the Election Commission to take a decision.

He also said that all polling parties have returned safely and the first phase elections went through without any hassles.

Also Read: BJD chief Naveen Patnaik to campaign in Ganjam today

Kalinga TV is now on WhatsApp. Join today to get latest Updates
Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.