Sashi Bhusan Behera to contest from Kendrapara assembly seat in 2019 election

Bhubaneswar: Biju Janata Dal (BJD) president and Odisha Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik on Monday informed that the state Finance Minister Sashi Bhusan Behera will contest from Kendrapara Assembly constituency under Kendrapara Lok Sabha segment in the forthcoming election.

Notably, the state ruling party has given ticket to former BJP Minister Aurobindo Dhali to fight from the Jayadev assembly segments from where Behera was elected in 2014 elections by a margin of over 28,600 votes. He had defeated his nearest Congress rival Benudhar Bhoi.

After he was denied the party ticket for the Jayadev seat, several supporters of Sashi Bhusan, a former Rajya Sabha member, had urged the BJD supremo to reconsider his decision.

Also Read: Rahul Gandhi’s Visit To Odisha’s Kandhamal Cancelled

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.