Rajya Sabha Election: BJD will name 3 politicians as its candidates soon

KalingaTV News Network

Bhubaneswar: BJD Supremo and Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik on Sunday clarified that the state ruling party will name three politicians as its candidates for the upcoming Rajya Sabha election in the state.

“BJD will consider seriously and will declare its candidates at the appropriate time. It is political people who will go to the Rajya Sabha,” said Patnaik after returning from his two-day New Delhi tour.

Notably, elections to three seats in the state will be held on March 23 as tenure of AU Singhdeo, Dilip Tirkey and BJD-backed independent candidate AV Swami would complete in April, 2018.

While speaking about the result of recently concluded Bijepur by-poll the Chief Minister said, “I expect that our candidate to win with a very handsome margin.” Rita Sahu, the wife of late Congress MLA Subal Sahu, contested the by-election as BJD’s contender.

Patnaik met President Ramnath Kovind yesterday and requested him to inaugurate the museum-cum-learning centre at Anand Bhavan in Cuttack in memory of Biju Babu.

The President also agreed to Naveen’s invitation and will come to Odisha either on March 17 or 18 to throw open the Biju museum.

This would be the first visit of the President to the state after he assumed the highest Constitutional post of the country. This was also Naveen Patnaik’s first meeting with Kovind after the latter was elected the President.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.