ECI issues notification for Rajya Sabha Bypoll in Odisha

The Election Commission of India (ECI) has issued notification on Monday for the bypoll for the lone Rajya Sabha seat from Odisha. The filing of nominations paper would begin immediately.

The last date for filing of nominations is May 15 while the scrutiny will be held on May 16. Candidates can withdraw their nomination papers by May 18. The polling would be held between 9 AM to 4 PM on May 25. Counting of votes will take place at 5 PM.

The bypoll was necessitated following the resignation of senior BJD leader Bishnu Charan Das, who was appointed as the Vice Chairman of the State Planning Board. The winner will continue to be in office till 1st July, 2022.

On the other hand, suspense still continues as the BJD supremo Naveen Patnaik is yet to declare the name of the candidate for the seat in Upper House. Victory for the BJD nominee seems to be sure given the strength of the party in the assembly.

Kalinga TV is now on WhatsApp. Join today to get latest Updates
Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.