Bypolls for three Rajya Sabha seats of Odisha on July 5

Bhubaneswar: The Election Commission on Sunday announced that the bypolls for three Rajya Sabha seats of Odisha will be held on July 5. These three seats were vacated by Dr Achyutananada Samata, Pratap Keshari Deb and Soumya Ranjan Patnaik following their election to Lok Sabha and Assembly.

While Samanta was elected to the Lok Sabha from Kandhamal, both Deb and Patnaik resigned from Rajya Sabha after they were elected to the State Assembly.

Notifications will be issued on June 18 and elections and June 19 will the last date for application of nominations. The casting of votes will be held on July 5 from 9 am till 4 pm. After 5 pm votes will be counted and then the results announced.

The bulletin by the Election Commission also included that the bypolls will be held for seven seats of Bihar and Gujarat.

Also Read: Sri Mandir To Be Closed For Snana Purnima Preparations

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.