68th All India Police Hockey Championship To Begin From Monday

Bhubaneswar: Odisha Police is organising the 68th edition of All India Police Hockey Championship-2019 at Kalinga Stadium, Bhubaneswar from 16th to 24th December.

25 teams consisting 500 players, 200 officials and trainers from Police Organisations of different States, Union Territories and Central Armed Police Forces will participate in this mega annual sporting event.

50 Technical Officials have been roped in to conduct the championship. The Championship will be organised under the aegis of “All India Police Sports Control Board”. Sports and Youth Services Deptt. of Odisha is providing necessary support in the shape of technical manpower and material to make this event a grand success.

Odisha Hockey Association is providing required logistics and technical support. The Mascot for the Asian Athletic Championship and World Cup Hockey “Olly” representing the rare Olive Ridley Turtle has been taken as the Mascot of this event as well.

Separate committees have been formed under the leadership of Senior Officers of State Police for better co-ordination and management of the event. Police DG Abhay is the Chairman of the Organising Committee. Players and officials have been accommodated at different locations of Bhubaneswar.      

The opening and closing ceremony of the championship will be held at 7th OSAP Battalion ground, Bhubaneswar. The opening function will be held at 9 AM on Monday and the closing function will be on December 24.

 Since this championship is being organised for the first time by Odisha Police and the fact that a large number of players and officials will participate in the Championship, DG has categorically called upon all the officers to work with sincerity and seriousness for success of the programme. The quarter final and semi-final matches of the tournament will begin from December 21.


Kalinga TV is now on WhatsApp. Join today to get latest Updates
Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.