Congress replaces Nimapara, Barchana MLA candidates

Bhubaneswar: In yet another political development in the State ahead of polls, Congress replaced its two MLA candidates with new ones after they returned the party tickets.

While, the grand old party named Dilip Nayak as its new candidate from Nimapara Assembly seat in place of Satyabrata Patra, party’s candidate from Barchana Sitakant Mohapatra was also replaced by Ajay Samal later.

As per the report, three-time MLA Patra expressed his displeasure over getting allotted a party ticket very late and later returned it. He also resigned as the Puri district president of Congress alleging that the party had turned weaker due to OPCC chief.

Mohapatra who had been fielded from Barchana also protested the delay in getting allotted a party ticket to contest election and turned down the offer stay away from the upcoming poll.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.