Jajpur: 5 held for electoral violence, repolling recommended in 13 booths

Jajpur town: At least five persons were arrested and forwarded to Court in the matter of electoral violence in Kakudikuda block in Jajpur district of Odisha during the first phase panchayat poll that took place on Wednesday. The Jajpur district collector has recommended repolling in 13 booths.

The accused persons are Rajesh Mallick, Bhramar Mallick, Prabhakar Jena, Kirtan Mallick and Kabindra Mallick.

Jajpur District Collector Chakravarti Singh Rathore has recommended reelection in 10 booths of Dasarathapur and 3 booths of Badachana block and wrote to SEC.

The list includes No. 2,3,7,8 and 14 booths of Kanikapada panchayat, no. 14 and 15 booths of Biripata panchayat no. 3,9 booths of Dasarathpur and no. 7 booth of Akarpada.

Similarly, in the Badachana block fresh polling recommended for no. 10 booth of Balichandrapur panchayat, no. 5 booth of Raipur panchayat and no. 2 booth of Nalipur panchayat.

It is to be noted that polling halted in booth no. 2 and 3 of Kanikapada panchayat of Dasarathpur after booth capture.

Similarly, polling was affected in Duduraanta and Biripata panchayats due to poll violence. Miscreants reportedly threw the ballot box of Dasarathpur panchayat while bombs exploded in front of a few booths in Biripata panchayat. Also, electoral violence took place in Nalipur booth under Badachana block, informed the Collector. Stringent action will be taken against the people who are responsible for the poll violence, the Collector also said.

Also read: Odisha Panchayat Polls: 5 Polling booths allegedly captured in Jajpur district

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.