Appointments Committee of the Union Cabinet approves Sunil Bansal’s repatriation to Odisha

Bhubaneswar: The Appointment committee of the cabinet has approved the repatriation of special director intelligence bureau Sunil Kumar Bansal , IPS of 87 batch to his parent state Odisha .

He is going to be the next DGP of Odisha and will take over from January 1 on a two-year term after the retirement of incumbent DGP Abhay on December 31,2021.

The 1987-batch IPS officer is currently serving as special director, Intelligence Bureau. Bansal’s name was among the three names sent by Odisha government to Union Public Service Commission (UPSC) for appointment as state DGP. The other two police officers were 1988 batch officer Manoj Chhabra, who is posted as head of State Armed Police, and 1986-batch IP S officer Pradip Kapoor, who is posted as advisor (scientific) of national technical research organisation (NTRO).

Bansal has been on central deputation since 1994 and has never worked with the Biju Janata Dal (BJD) government which was founded by chief minister Naveen Patnaik only in 1997, three years after the police officer exited the state to serve central security agencies.

Prior to moving to the intelligence bureau, the IPS officer was superintendent of police in Odisha districts such as Dhenkanal, Angul and Mayurbhanj.

Also Read: IPS Officer Sunil Kumar Bansal Appointed As New Odisha DGP

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.