Odisha Panchayat Polls: Again Journalists attacked in Jajpur

Jajpur: Yet again, journalists were brutually assaulted in Jajpur while they were covering the third phase of Odisha Panchayat polls on Sunday.

The journalists have been identified as Debashis Sahoo, Gulshan Ali Nawaz and Bijay Sahoo from leading private Odia channels.

Reports said, the three journalists had gone to cover the alleged loot of ballot boxes from two booths no 4 and 6 at Bachala Panchayat under Binjharpur block  when they were brutally assaulted by some unidentified miscreants. The miscreants reportedly threw the boxes in a nearby pond. The vehicles of the journalists were also reportedly ransacked.

On February 16, four journalists were brutally assaulted by miscreants, who were trying to capture a booth by force, during the first phase of polling for the three-tier Panchayat elections at Badal Panchayat under Kanas block in Puri.

Minister for Food Supplies & Consumer Welfare and Cooperation Ranendra Pratap Swain strongly condemned the attack on journalists during the third phase of Odisha panchayat elections and said in his twitter that “he Learned that three journalists of electronic media have been manhandled at Binjharpur in Jajpur district.”

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.