Sri Lanka Offering Free Visa To 48 Countries, Including India

Colombo: Sri Lanka will waive its existing visa fee for travellers from 48 countries including India and China from August 1, as part of efforts to boost tourism in the country, officials said on Wednesday.

In a media briefing here, Tourism Development, Wildlife and Christian Religious Affairs Minister John Amaratunga said that Cabinet approval has been obtained to waive off the existing $25 visa fee for travellers arriving from India, China, the US, Germany, Canada, Malaysia and Indonesia.

Controller General of Immigration and Emigration, Pasan Ratnayake said that travellers wanting to visit Sri Lanka could obtain the visa approval by submitting all the required information electronically by accessing the Sri Lankan embassy websites in their respective countries or by visiting the Immigration website.

For travellers who have not obtained visa approval before arriving in the country, they can do so by submitting the necessary documents at the existing visa counter set up at the Bandaranaike International Airport.

Ratnayake said travellers from the listed countries will be issued a free 30-day visa and if any travellers needed an extension, they will be required to make a payment.

Post the Easter Sunday terror attacks on April 21 which killed over 250 people and injured hundreds, Sri Lanka is aiming to attract at least 1.9 million to 2 million tourists by the end of 2019.

 Also Read: Photoshoot Of Hindu-Muslim, Indian-Pakistani Same-Sex Couple Is Winning Hearts All Over

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.