Vamsadhara water dispute: Tribunal members visit Odisha

Rayagada: Supreme Court appointed Vamsadhara Water Tribunal members reached Odisha Tuesday morning to inspect villages on the banks of river Vamsadhara. The three-member team is led by Justice M. Sharma.

The team begun inspection from the village Sara belonging to Kashipur block in Rayagada district.

Yesterday, the Tribunal team had visited Andhra villages on the river banks. They inspected Katragradda and Neredi barrage in purview of Vamsadhara water dispute.

Even after Tribunal’s interim order, Andhra Government continued with its work on Vamsadhara barrage.

Last August 15, Andhra Chief Minister Chandrababu Naidu inaugurated Katragradda barrage.

The Andhra Government had begun conservation of water from the barrage from August 15 onwards.

Odisha and Andhra have been at loggerheads since 1961 regarding sharing of river Vamsadhara’s water.

Also Read: Odisha CM Wishes Everyone On Christmas

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.