Former Congress MLA K Surya Rao Resigns from Party

Paralakhemundi: Former Congress legislator of Paralakhemundi K Surya Rao today resigned from the primary membership of the party. The development has emerged as a fresh embarrassment to the state Congress which took a drubbing in the recently concluded general polls.

Rao who was earlier elected from the constituency in 2014 had finished fourth in the recent polls. Rao, however, blamed the state leadership of Congress for delaying his party ticket.

“The party has declared to issue party tickets to sitting MLAs prior to six months of the election date. But in my case, the ticket was delayed. I did not get any confirmation of getting the party ticket till March 23 which was the last day for filing of nomination. In such scenario I did not get ample time for preparation,” said Rao in his resignation letter sent to AICC president, Rahul Gandhi.

Rao also blamed the party for not sending any star campaigners to his constituency. “BJP party president Amit Shah and several other senior leaders of BJP campaigned in Paralakhemundi while Naveen Patnaik also campaigned for BJD candidate. But Congress could not afford any star campaigners,” alleged Rao.

K Narayana Rao of BJP had emerged as the winner from the assembly constituency by defeating independent candidate Tirupati Panigrahi by a margin of over 15000 votes. Panigrahi was also the rebel candidate of Congress.          

Also Read: Naveen Meets Modi In Delhi, Seeks Additional Rs 5000 Cr For Fani Hit Odisha

1 Comment
  1. Gl sahu says

    Gl sahu retired post man new shobhapur bharpura vfj road jabalpur madhya pradesh sir I want your number you are fro ncc in Madhya Pradesh you are my good friend sir your number

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.