10 Candidates In Fray For Pipili Bypoll: State Election Commission

Puri: The State Election Commission on Saturday informed that a total of 10 candidates remain in the fray for the upcoming Pipili bypoll.

According to CEO Sushil Kumar Lohani, as many as 15 people had filed their nominations till the last date for withdrawal of nomination (today). While nominations of three candidates were rejected, two candidates withdrew their nominations following which 10 candidates will now fight the by-election.

BJD’s Rudra Pratap Maharathy, BJP’s Ashrit Pattanayak and Congress’s Ajit Mangaraj are the top contenders of the bypoll which is slated to be held on April 17.

A total of 2, 29,998 people will cast their votes. Only 1077 postal ballots will be made available for those voters who are above 80 years of age and physically challenged. The postal ballots will be collected from April 6.

The State Election Commission has decided to engage 1740 polling personnel including 26 micro observers. All of them have been given the first dose of COVID vaccine.

Lohani said that out of the total 348 booths, 102 booths are vulnerable. Around 50 per cent of polling booths will have webcasting facilities.

As many as 102 vehicles will be used to carry 3009 physically challenged voters, he added.

The election was necessitated due to the death of sitting MLA Pradeep Maharathy last year.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.