India script historic series win in Australia

Sydney: India won their first-ever Test series in Australia 2-1 as the fourth Test at the Sydney Cricket Ground concluded in a draw following continuous rain on Monday.

With this win, Virat Kohli became the first Indian as well as the first Asian captain to win a Test series in Australia.

Team India with Border- Gavaskar Trophy

“By far, this is my biggest achievement. It’s at the top of the pile. When we won the 2011 World Cup, I was the youngest member of the side. Saw everyone emotional there, but I didn’t feel it. Here, after coming three times, this win means something else. The series win will give us a different identity, and what we’ve been able to achieve… something to be proud of,” said Kohli during the presentation ceremony.

Australia skipper Tim Paine hailed Indian team.

“Have to tip our hat to India, we know how tough it is to win in Australia so congrats to Virat and (coach) Ravi (Shastri) because it’s a huge achievement,” Paine said.

“Disappointed, definitely over the last two Tests. We had our chances in Adelaide, in Perth I thought we played some good cricket, but in Melbourne and Sydney, we’ve been outplayed,” he added.

Cheteshwar Pujara was adjudged as the Player of the Series for his 521 runs at an average of 74. He also received the Man of the Match award.

Australia were 6 for no loss in their second innings, trailing by 316 runs at stumps yesterday.

Earlier, the Kangaroo team was dismissed for 300 runs in the first innings and was enforced to follow on.

India had amassed 622 for 7 before declaring their first innings on day two.

Also Read: Sydney Test: India Stun Australia Into Follow-On

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.